Tobermory Distillery

  • Tobermory distillery established in 1798, by John Sinclair. Is one of the oldest commercial distilleries in Scotland & produces two different, but equally alluring, single malts: the fruity, unpeated Tobermory and the more robust and smoky Ledaig.

  • Whisky distillery from Isle of Mull, Islands region in Scotland.

  • Produces peated and unpeated Single Malt Whisky & has capacity 1 million litres per annum, but maturation takes place at the distillery at Deanston.

  • The distillery is open, operated by Tobermory Distillers & owned by Distell Group Limited of South Africa from 2013 – present.

  • In 1797 John Sinclair, a local kelp merchant, applied for the lease of 57 acres of land on the area known as Ledaig in order to build housing and a distillery. Distilling was, however, banned in Britain between 1795 and 1797 in order to conserve grain stores for the War of the First Coalition with France. As a result, his application was rejected and he was only granted permission to build a brewery. However, Sinclair was not a man to give up that easily. He remained true to his original plan and a year later Ledaig Distillery was established. The Great Depression of the 1930s, coupled with a decade of prohibition in the USA, saw demand for whisky plummet, so the distillery closed and the Ledaig Distillery (Tobermory Ltd.) reopened in 1971. In 2012, during the most driest summer in the last thirty years, the distillery was forced to halt production temporarily, to preserve the quality and consistency of its whisky.

Tobermory Distillery Logo isle of mull islands region scotland whisky distillery 1798

Visit Website

Start typing and press Enter to search